Seit 1898 im Dienst der Erforschung der Geschichte des antiken Vorderen Orients Kontakt   |   Impressum   |   Sitemap   |   erstellt von datalino 2010-2016

The History of the Deutsche Orient-Gesellschaft

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Foundation and Early Years Explorations in Mesopotamia Re-establishment and Rescue Excavations

Explorations in Mesopotamia

Central to the endeavours of the DOG remained, however, Mesopotamia. This work was begun in 1903 in Ashur, the ancient capital of Assyria. Head of Excavations was Walter Andrae, whose main fields of study here up until 1913 were fortifications, palaces and religious monuments, such as those of the goddess of love and war, Ishtar, and the tutelary god of the state, Ashur. Recently the DOG's exploratory work in Ashur recommenced, and is currently under the direction of Peter Miglus.

Ashur, temple and palaces at the 'Court of Emblems', as reconstructed by Walter Andrae, from Walter Andrae, Das wiedererstandene Assur, 1938
 
Uruk, glazed relief bricks from the Bit Resh,
© DOG, Oriental Department

Similarly a number of smaller field trips were conducted from Ashur to other ruin sites, such as to the royal residential city of Kar-Tukulti-Ninurta, opposite Ashur on the eastern bank of the Tigris, and to the Parthian city of Hatra.

1912/13 marked the beginning of excavations by the DOG in the wide-ranging ruins of the old south-Mesopotamian city of Uruk, from which came the legendary King Gilgamesh, who rose to fame through his search for eternal life. Already one year later work in Uruk was interrupted by the outbreak of World War One, and it was only recommenced in 1928, albeit now funded by the Emergency Association of German Science and later by its successor, the German Research Council. The explorations in Uruk, for which the German Archaeological Institute has held the licence since 1956, have continued to this day.

During the period after the First World War, the DOG was at a very low financial ebb. So central place was given to the task of publishing the results of the excavations. Not until the late 1920s could field research be recommenced in Iraq and, shortly after, in Hattusa.

From the outset, the DOG was strongly coloured in its vision and its material commitment by its large number of Jewish members, including James Simon and Bruno Güterbock. Consequently the National Socialist Regime in Germany brought about a rapid decline in the society. Many of the members saw themselves compelled to emigrate, while others were murdered in the extermination camps.

Re-establishment and Rescue Excavations

Seit 1898 im Dienst der Erforschung der Geschichte des antiken Vorderen Orients Kontakt   |   Impressum   |   Sitemap   |   erstellt von datalino 2010-2016

Die Geschichte der Deutschen Orient-Gesellschaft

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Gründung und frühe Jahre Forschungen in Mesopotamien Wiedergründung und Rettungsgrabungen

Forschungen in Mesopotamien

Im Zentrum des Engagements der DOG blieb allerdings das Zweistromland. So wurden 1903 Arbeiten in Assur, der alten Hauptstadt Assyriens, aufgenommen. Grabungsleiter war Walter Andrae, der hier bis 1913 vornehmlich Befestigungswerke, Palastbauten und Heiligtümer wie die der Kriegs- und Liebesgöttin Ischtar und des Stadtgottes Assur erforschte. In jüngster Zeit werden die Untersuchungen der DOG in Assur fortgeführt. Sie stehen gegenwärtig unter der Leitung von Peter Miglus.

Assur, Tempel und Paläste' am Hof der Embleme' in einer Rekonstruktion von Walter Andrae, aus Walter Andrae, Das wiedererstandene Assur, 1938
 
Uruk, Glasierte Reliefziegel aus dem Bit Resch,
© DOG, Orient-Abteilung

Auch von Assur aus wurden kleinere Feldforschungen an anderen Ruinenstätten durchgeführt, so in der Assur gegenüber am östlichen Tigrisufer gelegenen Residenzstadt Kar-Tukulti-Ninurta und in der parthischen Stadt Hatra.

1912/13 begannen die Ausgrabungen der DOG in den ausgedehnten Ruinen der alten südmesopotamischen Stadt Uruk, aus der der legendäre, durch seine Suche nach dem ewigen Leben bekannt gewordene König Gilgamesch stammt. Bereits ein Jahr darauf wurden die Arbeiten in Uruk jedoch durch den Ausbruch des Ersten Weltkriegs unterbrochen und erst 1928 wiederaufgenommen, nun allerdings finanziert durch die Notgemeinschaft der Deutschen Wissenschaft sowie später durch deren Nachfolgerin, die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft. Die Untersuchungen in Uruk, für die seit 1956 das DAI die lizenzhaltende Institution ist, dauern bis heute an.

In der Zeit nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg lag die DOG finanziell am Boden. Ins Zentrum rückte so die Arbeit an der Veröffentlichung der Grabungsergebnisse. Erst Ende der 20er Jahre konnte die Feldforschung im Irak und wenig später auch in Hattusa wiederaufgenommen werden.

Da die DOG von Beginn an in hohem Maße von dem ideellen und materiellen Engagement gerade auch ihrer zahlreichen Mitglieder jüdischer Herkunft, darunter James Simon und Bruno Güterbock, geprägt wurde, zog das nationalsozialistische Regime in Deutschland einen rapiden Abstieg der Gesellschaft nach sich. Viele Mitglieder sahen sich zur Emigration gezwungen, andere sind in den Vernichtungslagern umgekommen.

Forschungen in Mesopotamien